Indigenous Advisory Circle

The Law Foundation of British Columbia (the Foundation) is headquartered on the traditional, unceded lands of the xwməθkwəy̓əm (Musqueam), Skwxwú7mesh (Squamish), and Səl̓ílwətaʔ/Selilwitulh (Tsleil-Waututh) Nations. Foundation grants support justice programs across the Indigenous territories that make up BC. As part of the legal infrastructure in this province, the Foundation shares an extraordinary duty to build good relationships with Indigenous peoples, and a responsibility to ensure that Indigenous justice initiatives are a priority in its grant-making. 

As an important part of existing efforts to support the advancement of Indigenous justice, the Foundation is establishing an Indigenous Advisory Circle for the first time in its history. The Circle will advise the Foundation on any of its work and particularly that which has a pronounced impact on Indigenous peoples and communities. The Circle will be a space for dialogue about the Foundation’s practices, and how they may be developed over time. The Circle will guide the Foundation in its efforts to build a renewed relationship with Indigenous peoples that promotes trust, respect, and accountability. 

The deadline for submitting Expressions of Interest for the Indigenous Advisory Circle has now passed.
Any future opportunities to apply for membership with the IAC will be posted on this page. 

Members of the IAC were selected following an invitation for expressions of interest in early 2023. The process for selecting these members was led entirely by Indigenous staff and governors and was done through an Indigenous lens that was values-centered. Indigenous staff and governors were intentional to holistically balance the Circle with an eye to the group as a whole, while balancing diversity of community membership, educational and career backgrounds, and life experiences.

The currently appointed Indigenous Advisors are:

  • Amber Severinson
  • Arnold Nagy
  • Brin Wylie
  • Christina Cook
  • John Spence
  • Michelle Testawich-Krawczyk
  • Patricia Barkaskas
  • Warren McDougall