Board of Governors

Law Foundation of BC Board of Governors, 2018
Law Foundation of BC Board of Governors, 2018

The Law Foundation of BC is administered by a Board of Governors, which is responsible for governing the Foundation and making all decisions concerning grants.

The Board has 18 volunteer members:

  • The Attorney General or their appointee.
  • 3 persons, not lawyers, appointed by the Attorney General.
  • 12 members of the Law Society of BC or the judiciary, appointed by the Benchers of the Law Society to represent the geographical areas of the province.
  • 2 members of the Law Society appointed by the BC Branch of the Canadian Bar Association.

The Governors for 2019 are:

  • Geoffrey White, Chair, Kelowna
  • Judge Patricia Bond, Surrey
  • Maureen Buchan, Vancouver
  • Felicia Ciolfitto, Vancouver
  • Justice Thomas Crabtree, Chilliwack
  • John Greschner, Victoria
  • Kathy Kendall, Kamloops
  • Lindsay LeBlanc, Victoria
  • Jan Lindsay, QC, Vancouver
  • Deanna Ludowicz, QC, Grand Forks
  • Sean Rowell, Smithers
  • Zulie Sachedina, Vancouver
  • Kurt Sandstrom, QC, Victoria
  • W. Laurence Scott, QC, New Westminster
  • James Sullivan, QC, Vancouver
  • Eileen Vanderburgh, Vancouver
  • William Younie, QC, Duncan
  • Robert Zeunert, Prince George

The Law Foundation is independent of the government, the Law Society of British Columbia and the BC Branch of the Canadian Bar Association, although its Governors are appointed by these bodies.

The Board has 5 standing committees:

  • Class Actions
  • Fellowships and Research
  • Finance and Administration
  • New Grants
  • Policy and Planning

The Board and the Committees meet regularly during the year.

A staff of 13 assists the Board; learn more about the Foundation’s staff.